Kazakhstan - Switzerland

Overview

1 June 1992 – establishment of diplomatic relations.

1996 – Embassy of Kazakhstan opens in Bern.

1994 – Consulate of Switzerland (in 1998 converted to a Consulate General) opens in Almaty.

In 2008 opened the Embassy of Switzerland in Astana.

Since 2019, the Ambassador of Kazakhstan in Switzerland is Alibek Bakayev.

Since October 2016, the Swiss Ambassador to Kazakhstan is W.Schmid.

Political dialogue

The main priorities of Kazakh-Swiss relations were defined in the course of negotiations between the President of KazakhstanN.Nazarbayev and the Federal Presidents of Switzerland P.Delamure in 1996 and F.Cotti in 1998.

January 19-21, 2003 – the first official visit of the President of Kazakhstan N.Nazarbayev to Switzerland. During the visit, he held talks with Federal President P. Cushpen and signed the intergovernmental Agreement on the international carriage of passengers and cargo.

January 23, 2014 - during the annual session of the World Economic Forum in Davos President N.Nazarbayev met with Federal President and Minister of foreign Affairs of Switzerland Didier Burkhalter.

November 20, 2014 – the Federal President of Switzerland and the OSCE Chairman D.Burkhalter during a tour of Central Asia paid an official visit to Astana and held meetings with President N.Nazarbayev, the Speaker of the Senate K.Tokayev and Foreign Minister E.Idrissov.

Inter-parliamentary cooperation

In September 2012 the legislative bodies of the two countries established the inter-parliamentary cooperation group «Kazakhstan – Switzerland». The first meeting of the inter-parliamentary group (IPG) took place on November 28, 2013 in Bern. On October 14, 2014, Bern hosted the second meeting of the IPG.

In the framework of the inter-parliamentary cooperation group «Kazakhstan – Switzerland» achieved a high level of understanding.

Multilateral political cooperation 

Kazakhstan and Switzerland enjoy active cooperation in the framework of the Bretton Woods institutions. Since 2003, Kazakhstan is a member of the Swiss district «Global environmental facility» of the World Bank.

On July 12, 2016 a meeting of the Swiss subgroup of the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank with participation of the Minister of Finance of Switzerland U.Maurer was held in Almaty.

Switzerland had supported Kazakhstan's chairmanship in the OSCE in 2010 and provided full cooperation and support for the accession of Kazakhstan to the WTO. In 2013 the swiss side had supported thecandidacy of Kazakhstan for non-permanent members of the UN Security Council in 2017-2018, in 2014 - the accession of Kazakhstan to ASEM.

On April 2015, the Swiss government confirmed its intention to participate in the international specialized exhibition EXPO-2017 in Astana.

Trade and economic cooperation

The Kazakh-Swiss intergovernmental Commission on trade-economic cooperation aims to promote the further expansion of bilateral relations.

Co-chair from the Kazakh side is Vice Minister of Finance B.Beketayev, co-chair of the Swiss side is Head of Bilateral economic relations, State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO, Ambassador LiviaLeu.

8th meeting of the IGC took place in November 2013 in Switzerland, 9-th meeting - June 7, 2016 in Astana.

In order to enhance the effectiveness of linkages between the business communities of the two countries the Kazakh-Swiss Business Council (a coordinating and Advisory body) was established in October 2012.

The co-chairs of the DC: Advisor to the President of the RK Vladimir Shkolnik and the head of the group of companies «Stadler Rail Group» P.Spuhler. The 1st meeting was held in April 2013 in Astana, the 2nd meeting on 25 November 2013 in Switzerland, 3rd meeting- 5-6 November 2014 in Almaty. The 4th meeting is planned for 2017 in Switzerland.

According to the Committee on statistics of the Ministry of National Economy of Kazakhstan in 2015 turnover was 2,79 billion dollars (export - 2,659 billion, import – 129,1 million dollars). In comparison with the same period of 2014, the turnover decreased by 40,9%.

In the first ten months of 2016 turnover amounted to 2,512 billion dollars (export - 2,427 billion, import - 85 million dollars.)and compared to the same period in 2015 increased by 6,5% (turnover - 2,358 billion, export - 2,255 billion, the import 104 million dollars).

As to the size of Switzerland it occupies the fifth place after Russia, China, Italy, Holland and France.

Kazakhstan exports to Switzerland energy products, precious stones and metals. Swiss imports to Kazakhstan are represented by the precision instruments and optics, watches, chemical products and pharmaceuticals.

According to statistics the National Bank of Kazakhstan, from 2005 to September 1, 2015 the gross inflow of direct Swiss investments in Kazakhstan amounted to 14,5 billion dollars. The gross outflow of Kazakh investments in Switzerland amounted to 802,8 milliondollars.

Representatives of about 40 Swiss companies are operating in Kazakhstan.

Accepts stationed in the Swiss company "Mabco Constructions S. A." takes active participation in the construction of Astana.

The company "Zurich Airport" participates in the management and implementation of uniform standards to increase the level of safety and quality of 11 airports in Kazakhstan (JV "Airport Management Group").

In June 2014 the Kazakh-Swiss chamber of Commerce was opened in Zhurich.

On May 27, 2016 a business delegation from Lugano headed by mayor M.Borradori visited Almaty and Astana, after the visit Memorandum of cooperation was signed.

June 7, 2016 in Astana, Embassy of Switzerland in the Republic of Kazakhstan opened a trade representative of "Switzerland Global Enterprise".

September 26-27, 2016, in the framework of the partnership between the cities of Almaty and Lugano a reciprocal visit of the Kazakh delegation headed by Deputy Mayor of Almaty A.Zhunusova was organized in Lugano.

On 17-21 October 2016a Swiss business delegation headed by Minister of economy and security of the Canton of Geneva P.Maudetvisited to Astana and Almaty.

Cultural and humanitarian cooperation

Relationships between universities, scientific and cultural centers in Kazakhstan and Switzerland are growing. More than 70 Kazakh students had attended Swiss universities under the national Bolashak program.

Expanding contacts between the leading clinics in Switzerland and the Medical center of Astana.The Kazakh-Swiss Association "Keruen" was established in Bern on June 1, 2012 and the Kazakh cultural center in Zurich on May 30, 2015, uniting compatriots and friends of Kazakhstan in Switzerland.

May 22, 2015 the Kazakh-Swiss Institute of Tourism and Hotel and Restaurant business (on the basis of the Almaty technological University and the Swiss Institute for management of tourism and hotels HTMi) was opened for Қазақстанның Президенті Н.Назарбаевтың hotel business.

Within the aim of strengthening ties with compatriots who live in Switzerland, on March 20, 2016 in Bern and on April 3, 2016 in Zurichthe annual celebration of Nauryz was organized.

Created at : 4.12.2013, 12:58, Updated at : 7.10.2019, 11:00

Сотрудничество Республики Казахстан с Швейцарской Конфедерацией

Общие сведения

1 июня 1992 г. – установлены дипломатические отношения.

В 1996 г. – в Берне открыто Посольство РК.

В 1994 г.– в Алматы открылось Консульство Швейцарии (в 1998 г. преобразовано в Генеральное консульство).

В 2008 г. – открыто Посольство Швейцарии в Астане.

С 2019 г. – Посол РК в Швейцарии Алибек Бакаев.

С 10 октября 2016 г. – Посол Швейцарии в РК У.Шмид.

Политический диалог

Основные приоритеты казахстанско-швейцарских отношений определены в ходе переговоров Президента РК Н.Назарбаевас Федеральными президентами ШК П.Деламюрав 1996 г. и Ф.Котти в 1998 г.

19-21 января 2003 г. состоялся первый официальный визит Президента РК Н. Назарбаева в Швейцарию. В рамках визита состоялись переговоры с Федеральным президентом П. Кушпеном, подписано межправительственное Соглашение о международных перевозках пассажиров и грузов.

23 января 2014 г.в ходе участия в ежегодной сессии Всемирного экономического форума в Давосе Глава государства провел встречу с Министром иностранных дел, Федеральным президентом Швейцарии Д.Буркхальтером.

20 ноября 2014 г. Федеральный президент ШК и действующий председатель ОБСЕ Д.Буркхальтер в ходе турне по Центральной Азии посетил с официальным визитом Астану и провел встречи с Президентом РК Н. Назарбаевым, Председателем Сената К.Токаевым и Министром иностранным дел РК Е.Идрисовым.

Межпарламентское сотрудничество

Между законодательными органами двух стран всентябре 2012 г. создана Межпарламентская группа сотрудничества «Казахстан – Швейцария». 28 ноября 2013 г. в Берне состоялось первое заседание Межпарламентской группы (МПГ). 14 октября 2014 г. В Берне прошло второе заседание МПГ.

Достигнут высокий уровень взаимопонимания в рамках Межпарламентской группы сотрудничества «Казахстан-Швейцария».

Многостороннее политическое сотрудничество 

Активное развитие получило сотрудничество между РК и ШК в рамках Бреттон-Вудских учреждений. С 2003 г. Казахстан является членом группы Швейцарского округа «Глобальный экологический фонд» Всемирного банка.

12 июля 2016 г. в г. Алматы состоялось заседание швейцарской подгруппы Международного Валютного Фонда и Всемирного Банка с участием Министра финансов Швейцарии У.Маурера.

Швейцария поддержала председательство Казахстана в ОБСЕ в 2010 г. и оказала всемерное содействие и поддержку при вступлении Казахстана в ВТО. В 2013 г. Швейцария поддержала кандидатуру РК в непостоянные члены СБ ООН на 2017-18 гг., в 2014 г. - присоединение Казахстана к форуму Европа-Азия (ASEM).

В апреле 2015 г. швейцарское правительство подтвердило намерение участвовать в Международной специализированной выставке ЭКСПО-2017 в Астане. В2016 г. в рамках ВЭФ в Давосе подписан Договор участия Швейцарии в ЭКСПО-2017.

Торгово-экономическое сотрудничество

Дальнейшему расширению двусторонних отношений призвана содействовать Казахстанско-Швейцарская межправительственная комиссия по торгово-экономическому сотрудничеству.

Сопредседателем с казахстанской стороны является Вице-министр финансов Б.Бекетаев, сопредседателем со швейцарской стороны – Уполномоченная Федерального Совета ШК по торговым соглашениям, Посол Ливия Лёй.

8‑е заседание МПК состоялось в ноябре 2013 г. в Швейцарии, 9-е заседание - 7 июня 2016 г. в Астане.

В целях повышения эффективности связей между деловыми кругами двух стран в октябре 2012 г. создан Казахстанско-Швейцарский Деловой совет (является координационным и консультационным органом).

Сопредседатели ДС: Советник Президента РК В.Школьник и глава группы компаний «StadlerRailGroup» П.Шпулер. 1-е заседание состоялось в апреле 2013 г. в Астане, 2-е заседание - 25 ноября 2013 г. в Швейцарии, 3-е заседание - 5-6 ноября 2014 г. в Алматы. Проведение 4-го заседания планируется в 2017 г. в Швейцарии.

По данным Комитета по статистике МНЭ РК, в2015 г. товарооборот составил 2,79 млрд. долл. (экспорт - 2,659 млрд. долл., импорт - 129,1 млн. долл.). В сравнении с аналогичным периодом 2014 г. товарооборот снизился на 40,9%.

По итогам десяти месяцев 2016 г. товарооборот составил 2,512 млрд. долл. (экспорт - 2,427 млрд. долл., импорт - 85 млн. долл.) и по сравнению с аналогичным периодом 2015 г. увеличился на 6,5% (товарооборот - 2,358 млрд. долл.,экспорт - 2,255 млрд. долл., импорт - 104 млн. долл.).

По объему товарооборота Швейцария занимает пятое место после РФ, КНР, Италии, Голландии и Франции.

Казахстан поставляет в Швейцарию, главным образом, энергоносители, драгоценные камни и металлы. Швейцарский импорт в Казахстан представлен точными приборами и оптикой, часами, продуктами химической промышленности и фармацевтики.

По статистике Национального банка РК, с 2005 г. по 1 сентября 2015 г. валовый приток прямых швейцарских инвестиций в РК составил 14,5 млрд.долл. Валовый отток казахстанских инвестиций в Швейцарию составил 802,8 млн. долл.

Представительства около 40 швейцарских компаний функционируют в Казахстане.

Активное участие в строительстве Астаны принимает дислоцированная в Швейцарии компания «MabcoConstructions S.A.».

Компания «ZurichAirport» участвует в управлении и внедрении единых стандартов для повышения уровня безопасности и качества работы 11 аэропортов Казахстана (СП «AirportManagementGroup»).

В июне 2014 г. в Цюрихе открыта Казахстанско-швейцарская торговая палата.

27 мая 2016 г. состоялся визит бизнес делегации г.Лугано в Алматы и Астана во главе с мэром М.Боррадори. по итогам визита был подписан Меморандум о сотрудничестве.

7 июня 2016 г. в г.Астане при Посольстве Швейцарии в РК открылось Торговое представительство «SwitzerlandGlobalEnterprise».

26-27 сентября 2016 г. в рамках налаживания партнерства между городами Алматы и Лугано организован ответный визит казахстанской делегации во главе с Заместителем акимаг.АлматыА.Жунусовой в г.Лугано.

17-21 октября 2016 г. состоялся визит швейцарской бизнес-делегации во главе с Министром экономики и безопасности кантона Женева П.Модэ в гг. Астана и Алматы.

Культурно‑гуманитарное сотрудничество

Развиваются связи между университетами, научными и культурными центрами Казахстана и Швейцарии. По государственной программе «Болашак» в Швейцарии обучается более 70 казахстанцев.

Расширяются контакты между ведущими клиниками Швейцарии и Медицинским центром г.Астана. Созданы Казахстанско-швейцарская ассоциация «Керуен» (г. Берн, 1 июня 2012 г.) и Казахский культурный центр (Цюрих, 30 мая 2015 г.) объединяющие соотечественников и друзей Казахстана в Швейцарии.

22 мая 2015 г. открыт Казахстанско-швейцарский институт туризма и ресторанно-гостиничного бизнеса (на базе Алматинского технологического университета и швейцарского институтом менеджмента туризма и гостиниц HTMi).

В рамках укрепления связей с соотечественниками, проживающими в Швейцарии, 20 марта 2016 г. в Берне и 3 апреля 2016 г. в Цюрихе организовано ежегодное празднование Наурыз. В мероприятии приняли участие соотечественники, казахстанские студенты, швейцарские друзья Казахстана (представители НПО, общественные деятели).

Добавлено : 4.12.2013, 12:58, Изменено : 7.10.2019, 11:00