Joint Statement by H.E. Mr. Beibut Atamkulov, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan, and Dr. Lassina Zerbo, Executive Secretary of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO)


Nur-Sultan, 29 August 2019

  1. On the occasion of the International Day against Nuclear Tests, unanimously proclaimed by the United Nations General Assembly at the initiative of the First President of the Republic of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev, we reaffirm our commitment to realizing a world free of nuclear testing and renew our resolve to achieve the entry into force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT). 
  2. 29 August is a symbolic date for Kazakhstan and the international community. It marks the closure of the Semipalatinsk nuclear test site in 1991. This historic decision sent a strong political message and contributed to the international efforts that led to the adoption of the CTBT in 1996. We appreciate the important support Kazakhstan has provided and continues to provide to the CTBTO.
  3. This decision by the First President of Kazakhstan will be symbolically reflected this year through the Award Ceremony of the “Nazarbayev Prize for a Nuclear-Weapons-Free World and Global Security”.
  4. This year Kazakhstan has chosen the Executive Secretary of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) and late Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) to be awarded with the “Nazarbayev Prize for a Nuclear-Weapons-Free World and Global Security”. This Prize has a special meaning. It is to acknowledge the important contribution of the recipients of the award to global nuclear non-proliferation and disarmament.
  5. We take this opportunity to honour the memory of Mr Yukiya Amano, the late Director General of the IAEA who passed away in July 2019. We pay tribute to him for his efforts towards a world free from nuclear weapons. 
  6. Kazakhstan and the CTBTO encourage States and the civil society to join forces to put an end to nuclear testing through advancing the much needed entry into force of the CTBT. 
  7. We urge those States that have not yet signed or ratified the Treaty to do so without delay. We especially call on the remaining eight CTBT Annex 2 States, whose ratifications are required for the Treaty's entry into force, to demonstrate leadership by taking this important step.
  8. We invite all States to attend the International Day against Nuclear Tests commemoration at the United Nations Headquarters in New York, which will take place on 9 September 2019. 
  9. It is high time to bring the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty into force. Let us take the last steps of this long journey and finish one of the longest sought international instruments in the area of non-proliferation and disarmament. We owe it to ourselves, and to future generations.


Created at : 29.08.2019, 20:00, Updated at : 29.08.2019, 20:00

Совместное заявление Министра иностранных дел Республики Казахстан Бейбута Атамкулова и Исполнительного секретаря Организации Договора о всеобъемлющем запрещении ядерных испытаний (ОДВЗЯИ) Лассины Зербо


г.Нур-Султан, 29 августа 2019 года


  1. По случаю Международного дня действий против ядерных испытаний, единогласно провозглашенного Генеральной Ассамблеей Организации Объединенных Наций по инициативе Первого Президента Республики Казахстан Нурсултана Назарбаева, мы подтверждаем нашу приверженность реализации мира, свободного от ядерных испытаний, и возобновляем нашу решимость добиться скорейшего вступления в силу Договора о всеобъемлющем запрещении ядерных испытаний (ДВЗЯИ).
  2. 29 августа - знаковая дата для Казахстана и международного сообщества. Она знаменует собой закрытие Семипалатинского ядерного полигона в 1991 году. Это историческое решение дало сильный политический сигнал и способствовало международным усилиям, которые привели к принятию ДВЗЯИ в 1996 году. Мы высоко ценим важную поддержку, которую Казахстан оказывал и продолжает оказывать в ОДВЗЯИ.
  3. Это решение Первого Президента Казахстана будет символически отражено в этом году в рамках церемонии награждения «Назарбаевской премией за мир без ядерного оружия и глобальную безопасность».
  4. В этом году Казахстан выбрал Исполнительного секретаря Организации Договора о всеобъемлющем запрещении ядерных испытаний (ОДВЗЯИ) и покойного Генерального директора Международного агентства по атомной энергии (МАГАТЭ), для награждения «Назарбаевской премией за мир без ядерного оружия и глобальную безопасность». Эта Премия имеет особое значение. Она отмечает вклад, которые лауреаты Премии внесли в глобальное ядерное нераспространение и разоружение.
  5. Мы пользуемся этой возможностью, чтобы почтить память Юкия Амано, Генерального директора МАГАТЭ, который продолжительное время возглавлял Агентство и скончался в июле 2019 года. Мы признаем его заслуги и неоценимые усилия по созданию мира, свободного от ядерного оружия.
  6. Казахстан и ОДВЗЯИ призывают все государства и гражданскую общественность положить конец ядерным испытаниям путем содействия необходимому вступлению в силу ДВЗЯИ. 
  7. Мы настоятельно призываем те государства, которые еще не подписали или не ратифицировали Договор, сделать это безотлагательно. Мы особо призываем оставшиеся восемь государств, включенных в приложение 2 ДВЗЯИ, ратификация которых необходима для вступления Договора в силу, продемонстрировать лидерство, сделав этот важный шаг.
  8. Мы приглашаем все государства принять участие в праздновании Международного дня действий против ядерных испытаний в штаб-квартире Организации Объединенных Наций в Нью-Йорке, которое состоится 9 сентября 2019 года.
  9. Настало время ввести в действие Договор о всеобъемлющем запрещении ядерных испытаний. Давайте сделаем последний шаг в нашем долгом походе и завершим этот международный инструмент в области разоружения и нераспространения. Мы в долгу перед собой и перед будущими поколениями.
Добавлено : 29.08.2019, 20:00, Изменено : 29.08.2019, 20:00