Kazakhstan taking part in the High-Level Segment of the Human Rights Council and Conference on Disarmament in Geneva

On February 26, 2018 the delegation of the Republic of Kazakhstan headed by the Deputy-Minister of Foreign Affairs H.E. Mr. Yerzhan Ashikbayev began its work in the Seminar of the UN Human Rights Council (UN HRC) and Conference on Disarmament (CD).

Addressing the high-level participants of the UN HRC the Deputy-Minister presented the priorities and tasks of Kazakhstan in the field of human rights protection. In particular, Mr.Ashikbayev drew the attention of the delegates on the Development Strategy of Kazakhstan until 2050, which prioritizes the issues of ensuring the rights and freedom of human in Kazakhstan, that makes them as the basis of the development of the country. He also underlined the tasks for the near future on further improvement of the national human rights system, which are outlined in the Address of the President of Kazakhstan to the nation from January 10 of the current year.

The diplomat of Kazakhstan also informed about active cooperation of the country with all UN HRC mechanisms, as well as ongoing systematic work on the implementation of received recommendations.

In order to increase the effectiveness of the work and to achieve constructive work of the HRC, Mr.Ashikbayev proposed to observe the principles of impartiality, equal dialogue and balanced approach while considering all issues of the Council's Agenda. The emphasis in the HRC work should be shifted towards providing technical assistance and strengthening the capacity of the countries, rather than not implementing monitoring functions.

At the Conference on Disarmament Mr.Ashikbayev presented Kazakhstan's position on the most important issues of disarmament and non-proliferation. In the period of growing concern of the international community over lack of progress in disarmament, the adoption of the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons is a signal to all nuclear-weapon states. Those countries must show will and fulfil their obligations to build a stable and secure world.

The Deputy-Minister underlined the importance of the joint work of all UN member states in restoring confidence, which is a key solution to many problems currently.

In this regard, the member states of the CD were informed about the outcomes of the UN Security Council thematic briefing on “Non-proliferation of WMD: Confidence Building Measures" chaired by the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev.

On the sidelines of the United Nations several bilateral meetings and negotiations were held, including meetings with UN High Commissioner for Refugees Mr.Filippo Grandi, Executive Secretary of the UN Economic Commission for Europe Ms.Olga Agayerova, Director General of the International Organization for Migration Mr.William Lacy Swing, as well as Foreign Minister of Denmark, Deputy-Ministers of Costa Rica and Portugal. The current state of bilateral relations and prospects for further cooperation were discussed during the meetings.

Moreover, bilateral meetings with the Director-General of the UN Office in Geneva Mr. Michael Møller, UN High Commissioner for Human Rights Mr.Zeid bin Ra'ad al-Hussein, Secretary General of the International Telecommunication Union Mr.Houlin Zhao, UN Special Rapporteur on Tarture Mr.Nils Melzer, as well as the Minister for Gender Issues of Maldives and Ambassador of Japan to the CD, Chairman of the Conference of the Treaty on Arms Trade will be held in the coming days.
Created at : 28.02.2018, 11:55, Updated at : 28.02.2018, 11:55

Казахстан принимает участие в работе Сегмента высокого уровня Совета ООН по правам человека и Конференции по разоружению в Женеве

26 февраля 2018 года делегация Республики Казахстан во главе с заместителем Министра иностранных дел Ержаном Ашикбаевым начала работу в рамках Cегмента высокого уровня Совета ООН по правам человека (СПЧ ООН) и Конференции по разоружению.

Выступая перед высокопоставленными участниками сессии СПЧ ООН, заместитель министра представил приоритеты и задачи Казахстана в области защиты прав человека. В частности, Е.Ашикбаев обратил внимание делегатов на Стратегию развития Казахстана до 2050 года, которая приоритизирует вопросы обеспечения прав и свобод человека в Казахстане и ставит их в основу развития государства и ознакомил с задачами на ближайшую перспективу по дальнейшему совершенствованию национальной правозащитной системы, которые обозначены в Послании Главы государства Нурсултана Назарбаева народу Казахстана «Новые возможности развития в условиях четвертой промышленной революции».

Казахстанский дипломат также проинформировал об активном сотрудничестве страны со всеми механизмами СПЧ ООН, а также проводимой системной работой по выполнению полученных рекомендаций.

В целях повышения эффективности работы и для достижения конструктивной работы СПЧ Е. Ашикбаев предложил соблюдать принципы беспристрастности, равноправного диалога и сбалансированного подхода при рассмотрении всех без исключения вопросов Повестки Совета. Акцент в работе СПЧ должен быть смещен в сторону оказания технического содействия и укрепления потенциала стран, а не осуществления контрольно-мониторинговых функций.

В ходе выступления на Конференции по разоружению Е. Ашикбаев представил позицию Казахстана по наиболее актуальным вопросам разоружения и нераспространения. В свете растущей озабоченности международного сообщества в связи с отсутствием прогресса в деле разоружения, принятие Договора о запрещении ядерного оружия является сигналом для всех ядерных государств. Именно они должны проявить волю и выполнить свои обязательства по построению стабильного и безопасного мира, отметил Е. Ашикбаев.

Заместитель министра подчеркнул важность совместной работы всех государств-членов ООН по восстановлению доверия, что является ключом к развязке многих проблем современности.

В связи с этим, страны-члены Конференции по разоружению были проинформированы об итогах тематического брифинга Совета Безопасности ООН «Нераспространение оружия массового уничтожения: меры доверия» под председательством Президента Н. Назарбаева.

На полях заседаний казахстанский дипломат провел встречи с Верховным комиссаром ООН по правам беженцев Филиппо Гранди, исполнительным секретарем Европейской экономической комиссии ООН Ольгой Алгаеровой, генеральным директором Международной организации по миграции Уильям Лейси Свингом, а также с Министром иностранных дел Дании, заместителями министров иностранных дел Коста-Рики и Португалии. Во время переговоров были обсуждены текущее состояние двусторонних отношений и перспективы дальнейшего сотрудничества.

В ближайшие дни казахстанский дипломат проведет встречи с Генеральным директором отделения ООН в Женеве Майклом Мёллером, Верховным комиссаром ООН по правам человека Зейдом Раад аль-Хусейном, Генеральным секретарем Международного союза электросвязи Чжао Хоулинь, Специальным докладчиком ООН по вопросу о пытках Нильсом Мельцером, а также с Министром по гендерным вопросам Мальдив и Послом Японии при Конференции по разоружению, председателем Конференции Договора о торговле оружием.

Добавлено : 28.02.2018, 11:55, Изменено : 28.02.2018, 11:55