Kazakh Foreign Minister Holds Bilateral Meetings in Brussels

Kazakh Minister of Foreign Affairs Kairat Abdrakhmanov has held a series of bilateral talks on the sidelines of the Kazakhstan-European Union Cooperation Council meeting taking place in Brussels. At the meeting with Federica Mogherini, EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, the two sides exchanged views on a wide range of topical international and regional issues, including the situation in Syria, Iran, Afghanistan, as well as the DPRK nuclear programme.

Talks with Neven Mimica, European Commissioner for International Cooperation and Development, were devoted to the process of updating the EU Strategy for Central Asia. Minister Abdrakhmanov underscored Kazakhstan's readiness to actively participate in the development of a new document with a view to contributing to its effectiveness and taking into consideration the interests of all states in our region. Particular attention was also devoted to cooperation and assistance for Afghanistan, including in education field.

The Kazakh Minister also had a noteworthy meeting with Iveta Grigule, the Chair of the European Parliament delegation for Central Asia, during which parties sides discussed the development of inter-parliamentary cooperation, including in the legislative field. The next meeting of the Kazakhstan-EU Parliamentary Cooperation Committee is planned for the fall of 2018.

At the meeting with the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and European Affairs of Belgium, Didier Reynders, Kazakh Foreign Minister discussed the prospects for developing bilateral trade, economic cooperation, and attracting Belgian investment and technologies to Kazakhstan. In the light of Belgium's bid for non-permanent membership of the UN Security Council in 2019-2020, Minister Abdrakhmanov provided a detailed briefing about Kazakhstan's activities on the UNSC and President Nursultan Nazarbayev's peace-building initiatives.

During his trip to Brussels Minister Abdrakhmanov also met with Foreign Ministers Carmelo Abela of Malta and Simon Coveney of Ireland.

Created at : 26.02.2018, 23:30, Updated at : 26.02.2018, 23:25

Глава МИД Казахстана провел двусторонние встречи в Брюсселе

БРЮССЕЛЬ, 26 февраля 2018 года – На полях заседания Совета сотрудничества «Казахстан-ЕС» в Брюсселе Министр иностранных дел Кайрат Абдрахманов провел ряд двусторонних встреч. В ходе беседы с Верховным представителем ЕС по иностранным делам и политике безопасности Федерикой Могерини состоялся обмен мнениями по актуальным международным и региональным вопросам, ситуации в Афганистане, также укрепления сотрудничества с между ЕС и Центральной Азией.

Встреча с Европейским комиссаром по международному сотрудничеству и развитию Невеном Мимицей была посвящена обновлению Стратегии ЕС по Центральной Азии. К.Абдрахманов подчеркнул готовность Казахстана активно содействовать разработке нового документа для обеспечения его наибольшей эффективности и учета интересов всех стран нашего региона. Особое внимание также было уделено сотрудничеству в содействии Афганистану, в том числе в сфере образования.

Содержательной стала беседа Министра с группой членов Европейского Парламента под руководством главы делегации Европарламента по Центральной Азии Иветы Григуле. Были обсуждены актуальные вопросы развития межпарламентского сотрудничества, в том числе в сфере развития законотворческой деятельности. На осень 2018 года запланировано заседание комитета парламентского сотрудничества РК-ЕС.

На встрече с Заместителем Премьер-министра – Министром иностранных и европейских дел Бельгии Дидье Рейндерсом глава внешнеполитического ведомства обсудил перспективы развития двустороннего торгово-экономического сотрудничества, привлечения бельгийских инвестиций и технологий в Казахстан. В связи с выдвижением Бельгии в кандидаты в Совет Безопасности ООН на 2019-2020 годы, К.Абдрахманов подробно рассказал о деятельность Казахстана в качестве члена СБ ООН и миротворческих инициативах Президента Нурсултана Назарбаева.

В Брюсселе К.Абдрахманов также встретился с министрами иностранных дел Мальты Кармело Абела и Ирландии Саймоном Ковени.

Добавлено : 26.02.2018, 23:30, Изменено : 26.02.2018, 23:25