C5+1 Dialogue remains an important tool for regional cooperation between Central Asia and the US

C5 + 1 Dialogue remains an important tool for regional cooperation between Central Asia and the US

NUR-SULTAN, August 21, 2019 - The C5+1 High Level Meeting was held at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs with the participation of the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Kazakhstan Beibut Atamkulov, the Deputy Chairman of the Cabinet of Ministers - the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Turkmenistan Rashid Meredov, the Foreign Ministers of Kyrgyzstan – Chingiz Aidarbekov, Tajikistan – Sirojiddin Mukhriddin, Uzbekistan – Abdulaziz Kamilov and the US Under Secretary of State, David Hale.

Opening the high-level meeting, the Kazakh Foreign Minister stated that "the First President of Kazakhstan, Elbasy Nursultan Nazarbayev, laid down the fundamental priority of the Central Asian vector in Kazakhstan’s foreign policy”.

According to the Minister, “the inviolable continuity of  Elbasy’s vision lies at the heart of the regional strategy of the President of Kazakhstan, Kassym-Jomart Tokayev. We are inspired by the ongoing development of regional political, economic and humanitarian cooperation with our neighbors.” Kazakhstan’s interest in the high-quality implementation of all the regional initiatives and agreements reached at the bilateral and multilateral level was also noted.

At the last C5+1 meeting, the parties discussed the further expansion of trade relations, attraction of investment and implementation of multilateral economic projects in the region. The sides expressed great interest in the joint development of the infrastructure and transit and transport capacity of Central Asia.

In the field of security, the participants substantively examined a wide range of challenges and threats, the solution to which requires a regional approach. This includes  assistance with Afghanistan’s reconstruction, as well as the exchange of experience in the repatriation and rehabilitation of citizens who returned from the combat zone in Syria and Iraq.

As part of his visit to Nur-Sultan, US Under Secretary of State David Hale met with Prime Minister Askar Mamin, Foreign Minister Atamkulov and the Executive Director of the Fund of the First President of Kazakhstan, Asset Issekeshev, to discuss pressing issues of bilateral and international cooperation between Kazakhstan and the US.

The C5 + 1 format is a multilateral mechanism of interaction between the five countries of Central Asia and the United States. The main topics of the dialogue are issues of economic development, regional cooperation and security. The first meeting with the participation of the foreign ministers of six countries was held in November, 2015, in Samarkand.



Created at : 21.08.2019, 19:00, Updated at : 21.08.2019, 19:00

Диалог «C5+1» остается важным инструментом регионального сотрудничества Центральной Азии и США


НУР-СУЛТАН, 21 августа 2019 года – В Министерстве иностранных дел состоялась Встреча высокого уровня «С5+1» с участием Министра иностранных дел Казахстана Бейбута Атамкулова, Заместителя Председателя Кабинета Министров – Министра иностранных дел Туркменистана Рашида Мередова, глав внешнеполитических ведомств Кыргызстана Чингиза Айдарбекова, Таджикистана Сироджиддина Мухриддина, Узбекистана Абдулазиза Камилова и заместителя Госсекретаря США Дэвида Хейла.

Открывая встречу высокого уровня, глава казахстанского внешнеполитического ведомства заявил, что «Первый Президент Республики Казахстан - Елбасы Нурсултан Назарбаев заложил фундаментальный приоритет Центрально-Азиатского вектора во внешней политике Казахстана».

По словам Министра, «незыблемость преемственности курса Елбасы лежит в основе региональной стратегии Президента РК Касым-Жомарта Токаева. Нас вдохновляет поступательное развитие регионального политического, экономического и гуманитарного сотрудничества с нашими соседями». Также была отмечена заинтересованность Казахстана в качественной реализации всех инициатив и договоренностей, достигнутых в ходе двусторонних и многосторонних форматов стран нашего региона.

На прошедшей встрече «С5+1» были обсуждены возможности дальнейшего расширения торговых связей, привлечения инвестиций и реализации многосторонних экономических проектов в регионе. Стороны выразили большую заинтересованность в совместном развитии инфраструктуры и транзитно-транспортного потенциала Центральной Азии. 

В сфере безопасности участники встречи предметно рассмотрели широкий комплекс вызовов и угроз, решение которых требует регионального подхода. В том числе это вопросы оказания содействия восстановлению Афганистану, а также обмен опытом по репатриации и реабилитации граждан, вернувшихся из зоны боевых действий в Сирии и Ираке.

В рамках своего визита в г.Нур-Султан заместитель Госсекретаря США Д.Хейл был принят Премьер-министром РК Аскаром Маминым, Министром иностранных дел Б.Атамкуловым и Исполнительным директором Фонда Первого Президента РК - Елбасы Асетом Исекешевым для обсуждения актуальных вопросов двустороннего и международного сотрудничества РК и США.

Формат «С5+1» представляет собой многосторонний механизм взаимодействия между пятью странами Центральной Азии и США. Основными темами диалога выступают вопросы экономического развития, регионального сотрудничества и безопасности. Первое заседание с участием руководителей внешнеполитических ведомств шести стран было проведено 1 ноября 2015 года в г.Самарканде.

Добавлено : 21.08.2019, 19:00, Изменено : 21.08.2019, 19:00