Bilateral relations

Overview


Diplomatic relations between the Republic of Kazakhstan and the Hellenic Republic were set on October 1, 1992.

In February 1997, the Embassy of the Hellenic Republic in the Republic of Kazakhstan was opened.

On January 13, 2005, a Decree of the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan on the opening of the diplomatic mission of the Republic of Kazakhstan in Greece was signed.

On May 22, 2009 by the Decree of the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan, the diplomatic mission of the Republic of Kazakhstan in Greece was reorganized into the Embassy.

From April 2016, the Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Republic of Kazakhstan to the Hellenic Republic is Aleksey Volkov (his predecessor Sergey Nurtayev).

Political cooperation

Bilateral relations between Kazakhstan and Greece are characterised by absence of disagreements on most issues of international politics. The main highest-level activities in bilateral relations are public visits of the President of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev to Greece (July 2001) and President of Greece K.Stefanopulos to Kazakhstan (June 2002). During his visit to Greece in 2001, Nursultan Nazarbayev was awarded with the Order of the Redeemer of the highest rank. In August 2004, the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev visited Athens to attend the Olympic Games opening ceremony, during which a meeting with Greek Prime Minister K.Karamanlis was held.

On December 1-2, 2009, in Athens, Secretary of State- Minister of Foreign Affairs of Kazakhstan K.Saudabayev took part in the 17th session of the OSCE member states Council of Foreign Ministers (OSCE Ministerial Council) held under the chairmanship of Greece, where the conclusion of the Greek Presidency until 2009 was made, and the transfer of chairmanship to Kazakhstan was formalized. Foreign Minister of Kazakhstan took part in the meeting as a representative of the three OSCE chairmen, and led the third plenary session of the Ministerial Council as the future Chairman of the OSCE.

On July 16-17, 2010, in Almaty, the First Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of Greece D.Drutsas took part in the informal foreign ministers meeting of the OSCE member-states and met with the OSCE CiO, the Secretary of State- Foreign Minister K.Saudabayev and other leaders of the OSCE member-states. At the informal OSCE ministerial meeting, D.Drutsas supported the initiative of Kazakhstan's chairmanship of the OSCE on strengthening cooperation with other international organisations involved in security issues in the Euro-Atlantic and Eurasia.

On December 1-2, 2010, Prime Minister of Greece G.Papandreou visited Astana to participate at the OSCE Summit of Heads of State or Government, accompanied by Minister of Foreign Affairs of Greece D.Drutsas, the official representative of the Greek government G.Petalotis and others. During the visit, the head of the Greek government not only took part in the Summit, but also presided over the second session of the event and was received for an audience with the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev.

On September 26, 2013, in New York, as part of the 68th session of the UN General Assembly, Minister of Foreign Affairs E.Idrissov held a bilateral meeting with the Deputy Prime Minister- Minister of Foreign Affairs of Greece E. Venizelos.

In May 2015 and 2016, the Greek delegation took part in the VIII and IX Astana Economic Forum.

On 24-27 May 2017 General Prosecutor of the Hellenic Republic Mrs. K.Dimitriou visited Astana.

On 21 July 2017 the Minister of Economy and Development of the Hellenic Republic Mr. D.Papadimitriou visited Kazakhstan during the framework of the Astana EXPO-2017.

Trade and economic cooperation

According to the Committee of customs control of the Republic of Kazakhstan, in 2016 the trade turnover between Kazakhstan and Greece amounted to 886 million USD. In 2015 the trade turnover between Kazakhstan and Greece amounted to 1 billion 279 million USD (exports - 1 billion 260 million USD, imports - 19 million USD), which is 35.6% less compared to 2014 (turnover - 1 billion 988.3 million dollars, export - 1 billion 945.5 million USD, import - 42.8 million USD).

Inter-parliamentary relations

The parliamentary friendship groups were formed in parliaments of the two states. The head of the Kazakh-Greek friendship group in the Majilis is a member of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Security A.Tasbulatov. The head of the Greek-Kazakhstan friendship group in the Parliament of Greece is an independent MP (former member of the "Panhellenic Socialist Movement" (PASOK) L.Grigorakos.

Inter-regional cooperation

In June 2008, an agreement was signed on twinning the cities of Shymkent and Acharnon. In the years 2011-2013, governments of the two cities have exchanged visits at the leaders level, as well as written congratulations. On March 19-23, 2016, Mayor of Acharnon Y.Kassavos held a friendly visit to Shymkent to establish closer ties. The sides agreed to expand cooperation in the fields of culture, sports, tourism and trade.

The Intergovernmental commission

On July 3-4, 2006, in Astana, the first meeting of the Kazakh-Greek commission for economic and technological cooperation was held.

On October 14-15, 2013, the second meeting of the Kazakh-Greek IGC was held, where the corresponding protocol was signed upon the results.

On September 26, 2016, the Third meeting of the Kazakh-Greek IGC was held in Astana. Co-chairmen of the commission are the deputy ministers of Foreign Affairs Mr. R.Vassilenko from the Kazakh side and Mr. D.Mardas from the Greek side.
Created at : 6.11.2016, 18:50, Updated at : 7.11.2016, 17:04

Двусторонние отношения

Дипломатические отношения между Республикой Казахстан и Греческой Республикой установлены 1 октября 1992 г.

В феврале 1997 года открылось Посольство Греческой Республики в Республике Казахстан.

13 января 2005 года был подписан Указ Президента Республики Казахстан об открытии дипломатической миссии Республики Казахстан в Греции.

22 мая 2009 года Указом Президента Республики Казахстан Дипломатическая миссия Республики Казахстан в Греции реорганизована в Посольство.

С апреля 2016 года Чрезвычайным и Полномочным Послом Республики Казахстан в Греческой Республике является Волков Алексей Юрьевич (его предшественник Сергей Нуртаев).

Политическое сотрудничество

Двусторонние отношения между Казахстаном и Грецией характеризуются отсутствием разногласий по большинству вопросов международной политики. Основными мероприятиями на высшем уровне в двусторонних отношениях стали государственные визиты Президента РК Н.Назарбаева в Грецию (июль 2001 г.) и Президента Греции К.Стефанопулоса в Казахстан (июнь 2002 г.). В ходе визита в Грецию в 2001 году Н.Назарбаеву был вручен орден Спасителя высшей степени. В августе 2004 года состоялся визит Президента РК Н.Назарбаева в Афины для участия в церемонии открытия Олимпийских игр, в ходе которого состоялась встреча с Премьер-министром Греции К.Караманлисом.

1-2 декабря 2009 года в Афинах Государственный секретарь – Министр иностранных дел РК К.Саудабаев принял участие в состоявшемся под председательством Греции 17-м заседании Совета министров иностранных дел государств-членов ОБСЕ (СМИД ОБСЕ), на котором были подведены итоги греческого председательства в 2009 г., и официально оформлена передача председательства к Казахстану. Глава МИД РК участвовал в работе заседания уже как представитель Тройки председателей ОБСЕ, в качестве будущего действующего председателя ОБСЕ руководил третьей пленарной сессией СМИД.

16-17 июля 2010 года в Алматы первый заместитель министра иностранных дел Греции Д.Друцас принял участие в неформальной встрече министров иностранных дел государств-членов ОБСЕ и встретился с ДП ОБСЕ, Государственным секретарем – Министром иностранных дел РК К.Саудабаевым и другими лидерами государств-членов ОБСЕ. В рамках неформальной министерской встречи ОБСЕ Д.Друцас поддержал инициативу казахстанского председательства об укреплении сотрудничества ОБСЕ с другими международными организациями, занимающимися вопросами обеспечения безопасности в Евро-Атлантике и Евразии.

1-2 декабря 2010 года премьер-министр Греции Дж.Папандреу находился в Астане для участия в Саммите глав государств-членов ОБСЕ в сопровождении министра иностранных дел Греции Д.Друцаса, официального представителя греческого правительства Г.Петалотиса и др. В ходе пребывания глава греческого правительства не только участвовал на Саммите, но также председательствовал на второй сессии данного события и побывал на аудиенции у Президента РК Н.Назарбаева.

26 сентября 2013 года в Нью-Йорке в рамках 68-й сессии Генеральной Ассамблеи ООН Министр иностранных дел РК Е.Идрисов провел двустороннюю встречу с Вице-премьером – Министром иностранных дел Греции Е.Венизелосом.

В мае 2015 и 2016 годов греческая делегация приняла участие в 8-м и 9-м Астанинском экономическом форуме.

24-27 мая 2017 года состоялся визит Генерального прокурора Верховного Суда Греческой Республики К.Димитриу в Астану.

21 июля 2017 года в рамках Международной специализированной выставки «ЭКСПО-2017» состоялся визит Министра экономики и развития Греции Д.Пападимитриу.

Торгово-экономические сотрудничество

Внешнеторговый оборот Казахстана с Грецией за 2016 г. составил 886 млн. долл. США. В 2015 г. товарооборот между Казахстаном и Грецией составил 1 млрд. 279 млн. долл. США (экспорт – 1 млрд. 260 млн. долл., импорт – 19 млн. долл.), что на 35,6% меньше по сравнению с 2014 г. (товарооборот – 1 млрд. 988,3 млн. долл., экспорт – 1 млрд. 945,5 млн. долл., импорт – 42,8 млн. долл.).

Межпарламентские отношения

В парламентах двух государств образованы парламентские группы дружбы. Руководителем казахстанско-греческой группы дружбы в Мажилисе Парламента РК является член Комитета по международным делам, обороне и безопасности А.Тасбулатов. Руководителем греко-казахстанской группы дружбы в Парламенте Греции является независимый депутат (бывший член «Всегреческого социалистического движения» (ПАСОК) Л.Григоракос.

Межрегиональное сотрудничество

В июне 2008 года было подписано соглашение о побратимстве между гг.Шымкент и Ахарнон. В 2011-2013 гг. мэрии двух городов обменялись визитами на уровне руководителей, а также письменными поздравлениями. 19-23 марта 2016 г. состоялся дружественный визит мэра Ахарнон Я.Кассавоса в г.Шымкент для установления более тесных связей. Стороны договорились о расширении сотрудничества в области культуры, спорта, туризма и торговли.

Межправительственная комиссия

3-4 июля 2006 года в Астане было проведено первое заседание Казахстанско-греческой комиссии по экономическому и технологическому сотрудничеству.

14-15 октября 2013 года состоялось Второе заседание казахстанско-греческой МПК, по итогам которого был подписан соответствующий Протокол.

26 сентября 2016 года в г.Астана состоялось Третье заседания МПК. Сопредседателями данной комиссии являются заместители министров иностранных дел Р.Василенко с казахстанской стороны и Д.Мардас с греческой стороны.
Добавлено : 6.11.2016, 18:50, Изменено : 7.11.2016, 17:04