Размер шрифта
Цвета сайта


The agreement on the establishment of the Cooperation Council of the Turkic Speaking States (further – CCTS or Turkic Council) was signed on October 3, 2009 in Nakhchіvan (Azerbaijan Republic) at the 9th Summit of the Heads of the Turkic speaking states by initiative of the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan N.A.Nazarbayev.

The signing of this document became the basis for the establishment of the regional organization, urged to develop cooperation between the Turkic speaking countries and to promote a unification of the Turkic people.

Members of the CCTS are Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Turkey. The Secretariat which is responsible for the monitoring of the implementation of the decisions of the CCTS summits, preparation and holding meetings at the highest and expert levels, as well as the preparation of proposals for initiatives that pursue common Turkic interests was established.

Since 2010 till 2014 the Secretary General of the CCTS was the Ambassador-at-Large of the Ministry of Foreign Affairsof Turkey Halil Akynci. From the September 2014 representative of Azerbaijan R.Gasanov will be a new Secretary General of the CCTS. The headquarters of the Secretariat is located in Istanbul.

The I Summit of CCTS took place on October 21, 2011 in Almaty on the subject "Economic Cooperation of the Turkic speaking states". Among the items discussed were a trade and economic interaction, free movement of goods, the capitals, services and technologies between member states. During the Summit the Almaty Declaration was approved.

The II Summit of CCTS took place on August 23, 2012 in Bishkek. Subject of the event was "Cooperation in the cultural and humanitarian sphere". During the Summit the Bishkek declaration, the “Agreement on the financial rules of the Secretariat of CCTS ", the “Agreement on the establishment of the Turkic Academy" and the Charter of the Turkic culture and heritage foundation are signed.

The III Summit of CCTS took place on August 16, 2013 in Gabala (Azerbaijan) on the subject "Cooperation in the sphere of Transport and Communications". During the Summit the Gabala Declaration was adopted.

The IV Summit of CCTS took place on June 5, 2014 in Bodrum (Turkey) under aegis "Cooperation in the tourism sphere". During the Summit the Bodrum Declaration was adopted.

The V Summit of CCTS will take place in 2015 in Kazakhstan.

Within the CCTS, the following meetings are held annually:

-                     The Council of Heads of States;

-                     The Council of Ministers of Foreign Affairs;

-                     The Senior Officials Committee;

-                     The Council of Elders;

-                     Meetings of heads and experts of experts of the sectoral government bodies in the sphere of economy, investment, customs and transportation;

-                     The Committee on development of common terminology;

-                     Meetings of Heads of the united diasporas.

In order to deepen economic ties within the CCTS, Almaty hosted the first meeting of Ministers of Economy of the Member States on October 13, 2011. After the meeting, it was decided to establish four working groups for the preparation of case studies and proposals aimed at strengthening the economic cooperation between the Turkic speaking states and increasing commodity circulation between them, to work on the following areas:

- Improvement of the investment climate;

- Diversification of the economy;

- Development of transport;

- Support for entrepreneurship.

In 2013 fifth working group on tourism development was established.

Business Council of Members States of the CCTSis functioning.

The second meeting of the Ministers of Economics of the Turkic speaking states took place on August 13-15, 2012 in Baku, where a further expansion of a trade and economic and investment partnership and development of an export potential of the countries of the region by increasing of a mutual commodity turnover were discussed.

June 28, 2013 in Istanbul hosted the third meeting of the Ministers of Economy of the members of CCTS.

The 4th meeting of Ministers of Economics of member countries of CCTS took place on June 20, 2014 in Issyk Kul. The problems of exchange of information of investment statistics are discussed.

On July 3,2013 in Baku hosted first Meeting of the Ministers of Transport and Communications of the Member States of the CCTS. During the meeting they discussed the development of land transport infrastructure for connecting the Caspian Sea ports with international transport and communication systems. The event also signed a Memorandum of mutual understanding between seaports of Aktau (Kazakhstan), Baku (Azerbaijan) and Samsun (Turkey). The memorandum is intended to facilitate the exchange of information on cargo and experience in the management of port services and marketing, as well as cooperation in personnel training.

On December 9-10, 2013 in Istanbul the 1st meeting of the working group of the CCTS on development in tourism and on December 11, 2013 he 1st meeting of the Ministers of Tourism was held.

On April 17-18, 2014 the 1st meeting of the representatives of Aktau, Baku and Samsun sea ports administrations was held.

On May 21-22, 2014 the 2nd meeting of Ministers of transport and communications was held in Astana.