Foreign Ministers of Turkic Speaking Countries welcome Uzbekistan's Accession to CCTS

BAKU, October 14, 2019 –Baku hosted a meeting of the Council of Foreign Ministers of the Turkic Council on the eve of the 7th Summit of the Cooperation Council of Turkic Speaking States (CCTS, Turkic Council) attended by Minister Mukhtar Tileuberdi.

Ministerial meetings are held annually to discuss substantive and housekeeping matters of preparing meetings and decisions of the heads of state of the Turkic Council. During the meeting, the ministers agreed on the draft agenda and outcome documents that were planned to be signed and approved at a meeting of the Council of Heads of State. The Summit is expected to adopt the Declaration of the 7th Summit and the Decision on the creation of the Coordinating Committee of the Turkic cooperation organizations, as well as sign the Agreement between the CCTS Secretariat and the Government of Hungary on the CCTS Representative Office in Budapest. Moreover, the Heads of the CCTS plan to approve the Joint Statement on the accession of the Republic of Uzbekistan to the Nakhchivan Agreement on the CCTS Establishment.

Following the meeting in Baku, the ministers signed a number of documents regulating the activity of the Representative Office of the Turkic Council in Budapest opened on September 19, 2019. These documents regulate the organizational and financial activities of new Turkic organizations and will further contribute to their fruitful activities for the benefit of the states and people of the Turkic world.

By a separate decision of the ministers, observer status at the Turkic Culture and Heritage Foundation was granted to Hungary.

The CCTS was established in 2009 in the city of Nakhchivan (Azerbaijan) at the initiative of the First President of the Republic of Kazakhstan, Leader of the Nation Nursultan Nazarbayev. The Secretariat of the Turkic Council is located in Istanbul (Turkey). Following the results of the 7th Summit, there will be five Council members after the accession of Uzbekistan (in addition to Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Turkey).

Within the framework of the CFM, Foreign Minister Mukhtar Tileuberdi held separate meetings with the Foreign Ministers of Azerbaijan, Turkey and Hungary, during which the prospects for further development of bilateral cooperation with these countries were discussed.

Created at : 14.10.2019, 18:40, Updated at : 14.10.2019, 18:40