Kazakhstan’s legacy in the UN Security Council continues

NEW YORK, January 2, 2020 – The Permanent Mission of Kazakhstan to the UN organized a regular official ceremony at the UN headquarters of raising the flags of the countries elected to the UN Security Council for 2020-2021 on the first day of the organization's work in 2020. New non-permanent members of the UN Security Council are Vietnam, Estonia, Tunisia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and the Republic of Niger.

The tradition of holding a solemn ceremony marking the beginning of work of new non-permanent members was established by Kazakhstan in January 2018 during its presidency at the Security Council. The UN members called this initiative a “hallmark” of Kazakhstan’s legacy.

“The purpose of this ceremony initiated by Kazakhstan and held for the third time in 75 years since the establishment of the UN, is to recognize the mandate given to you by the international community to fulfill an important and responsible task of maintaining global peace and security. Election of your countries to the Security Council represents the confidence of the remaining 192 member states in the commitment of your governments to the ideals of the UN Charter, especially in these difficult times,” said the Permanent Representative of Kazakhstan to the UN Kairat Umarov when opening the event. He wished success and significant achievements to the new non-permanent members, especially during the current 75th anniversary year of the UN.

The ceremony was attended by ambassadors of new non-permanent Security Council members who gave brief speeches on their priorities in the Council and expressed deep gratitude to Kazakhstan for organizing the event, allowing the delegations to start their work in the main UN body in a solemn atmosphere. 

Before Kazakhstan’s initiative, changing the flags of the non-permanent Security Council members was only a technical issue. Since the introduction of the new tradition, this procedure has become an official event in UNSC’s annual first-day program with representatives of the UN member states and major global media outlets participating.

In January 2019, the Permanent Mission of Kazakhstan presented the UN handcrafted flag stands for the Security Council member states’ flags. The stands were manufactured in Kazakhstan and made in Kazakh national style.

Kazakhstan completed its two-year work as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council on 31 December 2018.

Created at : 3.01.2020, 12:20, Updated at : 3.01.2020, 12:20